My Red-head counterpart

13 Nov
3811299 Sgt. D. R. BYRNE 
Co. B 327th GLIDER INF.
A.P.O 472 %  Postmaster
New York City
 
Ethel V. Frisk
4737 Towle Ave,
Hammond, Indiana                                                    Nov. 13, ’43                   [Note on back in Vic’s hand: “Dec. 3”]        Free
 
No  5381

PASSED BY 01553 ARMY EXAMINER  [signed] Edward J. Gibson, 1st. Lt. Inf.

[Date Stamp: ] Nov 151943

Reproduced from microfilm: V-MAIL 

Hello Punkin’:-

Today’s two Communiqués – one in blue “the gal with the One Buttoners” & one V-mail of Nov. third – two extremes – In one she feels good, the other was a gory thing about a visit to Doc. Warber.  Poor little kid, feelin’ better by now??  I hope!!

I take it from some “feeler” remarks, that my favorite button is on the way – goodie, again!!  Now if I just had one of those roses??  I know it ain’t possible, but it’s fun thinking about it, anyway.  Same as it’s fun thinking of you’se guys coming over – Wow!! No, baby – We’d steer plenty clear of the “Y”.

Your news of Carl is swell, & I do hope he makes it home, as I can well imagine just how he feels – No doubt he has good reason to think he’s coming home, or he wouldn’t say so.  My best for him.

Have been wond’ring what the deal is on “this is the Army” – I don’t get it at all, however I’ve been accused of being “Murphyish” before.  As for my Red-head counterpart, he must be a Champ & I can well imagine what the picture is like – Does he grunt??  — It’s Saturday, & I’m gonna have a bunch of Scotch – every one of ’em, to just you!  In the meantime g’nite, Pete – I’m lovin’ ya loads & CHEERIO!! JR.

Leave a comment